Tease. Don't Spoil.

So Phong and I saw Green Lantern, which was pretty great and I won't be dishing any spoilers so I won't be saying much more on it.

My real question is, what ever happened to teaser trailers? I recall a time when in theaters they played teasers and television did the same up until the movie was playing, and then they'd start airing slightly longer trailers and then later on when the movie is out on dvd they had the crazy long trailers that I imagine are for the soul purpose of reminding people that had watched it in theaters why they want to buy it.

Now every trailer I see is pushing 2 to 3 minutes and giving me the entire movie. I saw the trailer for Rise of the Planet of the Apes yesterday, which was kind of great because I didn't know what it was for and it was like watching a mini movie with a catch at the end when I saw the title. But seriously, I've now seen the movie. The trailer has a beginning, middle, and then an end with all of the emotional connections and build ups. I'll see it again when it comes out in full length, but I'm not going to be surprised or amazed.

I used to love watching the trailer in the movie theater, but now I just dread it because it's a bunch of films I might have really gotten a kick out of, but now I've prewatched. No film needs a 2-3 minute trailer. 1 minute tops. It's mostly about the music, the mood set, and snap clips of action if it's action or suspense if it's suspense. And honestly, for all of the movies that already have a fanbase, it doesn't even need scene clips. Like the first Transformers teaser. The Star Trek teaser. Even the Zorro teaser back in the day.

Captain America hasn't come out here but I've watched the first minute of the trailer and at least seen the first half hour of the movie through it. It's not necessary. Flash the Captain America shield to some really epic music and then give a date. I'd be there and so would a lot of other people. Same thing with Green Lantern. Give me a pan of space, a flash of green, a camera turn to Oa, and then the ring taking up the screen. Done.

I think I'll conclude my complaint here. Hopefully the people that are paying trailer makers too much to sum up movies will read this and knock it off. I minute people. That's it. And don't try to cram as much of a movie into it as possible. Trailers aren't about miniturizing the movie, it's about making people want to see it. Think about the name... 'teaser trailer'. Tease. Don't spoil.



Comments
Posted by: Linn

Very well written Cheryl!

I also like your previous entries! ^^ Update more! :D

2011-08-07 @ 13:48:58
URL: http://wildsofmyheart.blogg.se/
Posted by: Candy

I totally agree with you on this topic. Trailers are like spoilers nowadays. I don't want to watch the trailer before watching a movie (I sometimes do, though) because then I'll know everything important from the movie in like 9/10 cases. But I've understood that most people like trailers, so every time I've watched a new movie and want to review it in my blog, I post a trailer too. With a warning of it probably spoiling at least half the movie. ><

2011-11-24 @ 22:50:35
URL: http://sugarhearted.wordpress.com
Posted by: cheryl

I'm a sucker for trailers. I know they're full of spoilers now but sometimes I can't help it.

2011-11-25 @ 21:00:40
URL: http://appelsauce.blogg.se/

Write your comment here:

Namn:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Confidential)

URL/Blogaddress:

Your comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0