Smile.

"First they came for the communists,
and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn't speak out because I wasn't a Jew.

Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me." Martin Niemöller


So I found myself thinking about this quote again today. For me it's always been a reminder of such a basic and yet vital part of our lives. Doing the right thing even when it's not just for ourselves. Doing it because it's the right thing. Even though it's important to keep in mind 'doing the right thing' if we are ever faced with one of those pivotal and difficult moments in life- I think it's even more important to keep this idea in our everyday.

Doing the right thing isn't just for the dark times and hard moments. It's smiling at our neighbors and saying hello. It's stopping when a person has fallen or looks distressed. The 'right thing' is in every act of kindness and understanding. And every one of those acts and smiles we offer people, whether reciprocated or not, are worth our efforts. You'll never run out, you can spare goodwill on those that don't appreciate it because after those seconds when you continue on your way you'll forget but maybe it'll sink in for them, maybe it'll mean something.

Who among us hasn't had a day where a smile from a stranger could make it so much better? Be kind because one day you might need kindness in return. Be kind because it will make a difference to someone. Be kind because the world needs it, because it will make you feel better, because there's no good reason not to be.

The world can be a hard place. Make it better. Do the right thing.



Comments
Posted by: Linn

Very well written Cheryl!

I totally agree with you!

2011-05-01 @ 12:46:00
URL: http://wildsofmyheart.blogg.se/

Write your comment here:

Namn:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Confidential)

URL/Blogaddress:

Your comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0